Volvo & Mack Oil Service: Pan, Filters and Specifications
Back to the ATP Garage guide libraryVolvo D11/D13/D16 and Mack MP7/MP8 / Oil-service verification
Quick answer: Verify a Volvo D11/D13/D16 or Mack MP7/MP8 oil service by matching the truck and installed engine, oil pan, filter arrangement, oil-change-volume column and approved oil specification. Pan capacity and service refill are different entries. Use the current information for the actual installation, then have the final level checked by its prescribed method.
Application: August 2025 VN/VHD/VAH instructions include D11/D13/D16; the June 4, 2022 VAH pan boundary is D11-specific. The numeric May 2024 VNL example remains D13-only. A historical VDS-4.5 chart separates year-2011-and-newer pan categories, including D16. The 2022-GHG-and-newer VDS-5 poster names D11/D13, and S7498 retains its separate vehicle scope. Separate Mack MP7/MP8 examples are August 2025 oil/filter instructions and a manufactured-year 2017-2020 maintenance poster. Mack EOS and Volvo VDS entries retain their own applications. Match the actual installation and current information.
How are Mack MP7 and MP8 oil-service rows verified?
Mack's August 2025 instructions give MP7 its own steel-pan row, separate from MP8 pan/filter rows. They distinguish dry-engine, oil-change and drained-volume headings. A general family capacity or maintenance-poster pan category does not replace the matched service column. [6]
The MY2020 MP8 VGT/MY2021 MP8 turbocompound bypass-filter change remains MP8-only; it is not an MP7 changeover rule. The 2021-and-newer approval table distinguishes recommended EOS-5.0/FA-4 and minimum EOS-4.5/CK-4. Match its headings and actual configuration. [6]
Mack's separate poster is headed manufactured year 2017-2020, with MP7/MP8, EOS-4.5 and its stated 42-liter/44-quart pan category. It separates duty and idle-time context and directs users to the vehicle maintenance manual. The identifier is PV960-M-1720-042822; no separate issue date is asserted. It does not establish every later MP7 or MP8 interval. [7]
Keep Mack EOS and Volvo VDS requirements separate. Similar-looking tables or related engine platforms do not establish approval interchange. Use the Mack MP7/MP8 identification record for the installed serial, emissions, pan and filter findings. Mack describes VIN-based catalog lookup through PartsASIST; no filter part match or stock is established here. [8]
What changes the D11 oil-service lookup?
Volvo's August 2025 instructions separate D11 VAHs built before June 4, 2022 and all VHDs from the D11 VAH steel-pan table for builds on or after that date. Its pan note also describes retrofit compatibility for EM-USA17-and-later VAHs and excludes VHD. Build date alone therefore cannot identify the pan currently installed. [2]
Have the provider confirm the installed pan and matched table column. Filter quantity, pan volume, dry-engine total and oil-change volume are distinct entries. The D13 VNL example below does not establish D11 capacity; use the D11 row and current vehicle information.
What must be identified before selecting a D11/D13/D16 service fill?
Start with VIN, truck model, installed engine identity, build/emissions record, oil-pan identification and filter arrangement. Keep any pan, engine or filter-housing replacement history with the request. The D11 identification guide, D13 identification guide or D16 identification guide helps organize that record.
Volvo's August 2025 VN/VHD/VAH instructions list separate D13 pan/filter combinations. They also distinguish the bypass-filter arrangement from later D13 VGT and turbocompound examples. Treat a vehicle's observed configuration and matching service record as necessary inputs; do not select a table merely from the badge or a broad model-year search. [2]
Before buying service materials, ask the provider to name the applicable document and row. If the installation does not match its description, resolve that mismatch first. A previous invoice is useful history, but copying its quantity without confirming the current installation leaves the same question unanswered.
Why can a D13 pan number differ from the oil-change amount?
The May 2024 VNL document separates pan volume from oil-change volume. Its two-full-flow-filter D13 table gives these examples. Preserve the document's units and rounding; the right-hand column is not permission to pour that amount into an unidentified engine. [1]
| Pan in the scoped table | Pan volume, qt (L) | Oil-change volume, qt (L) |
|---|---|---|
| Steel | 33 (31) | 37 (35) |
| Composite | 33 (31) | 37 (35) |
| Aluminum | 34 (32) | 38 (36) |
Keep a quoted quantity attached to its column heading. If another record says dry-engine total, pan minimum or filter volume, retain that description instead of relabeling it service refill. Do not combine columns from different publications or average differently scoped values. Ask which row actually describes the installed pan and filters.
Is viscosity alone enough to choose D11/D13/D16 oil?
Record both the required performance approval and viscosity grade, together with the matched engine/application and operating-temperature information. The May 2024 VNL table distinguishes recommended VDS-5.0/FA-4 from minimum VDS-4.5/CK-4 for its 2021-and-newer entry. Its accompanying general text uses broader wording; use the exact application table and current vehicle information to resolve a selection, rather than expanding that D13 wording to older engines or a D11/D16 application. [1]
There is also a dated reason to question an isolated sticker: S7498, issued May 6, 2020, identified an incorrect VDS-5 label on certain 2021 VN/VHD/VAH vehicles. This historical campaign does not identify every 2021 truck as affected or establish today's oil requirement. If a label conflicts with the engine record, have Volvo check the actual vehicle and current information. Do not alter labels on the strength of this guide. [4]
Does the refill amount establish the oil-change interval?
No. Volvo's Service at a Glance poster for manufactured-year 2022 GHG-and-newer VNL/VNR/VNX/VHD/VAH applications using VDS-5 separates duty categories and oil categories, includes idle-time context and directs readers to the specific vehicle's maintenance/lubrication manual. A capacity number does not select that schedule. [3]
Record miles, engine hours, idle/PTO use and the actual oil approval with the service plan. Ask which schedule applies and which time or operating limit controls the next service. Keep the plan with the vehicle so a later oil change does not silently inherit a different oil or duty assumption.
What should the completed oil-service record contain?
Ask for the matched document/row, installed pan and filters, selected oil product with approval and viscosity, quantity actually added, and the final-level verification. Use the truck's prescribed checking conditions and method. This article does not assign a universal drain-back wait, dipstick adjustment, warning limit or filter part number.
If the quantity and level disagree, ask the provider to reconcile them before returning the truck to service. Preserve any warning or leak observation accurately rather than adding oil simply to reach an internet number. For unresolved service-part identification, use the fitment verification form. Keep the D11 engine and truck identification record with the D11 service row; the separate D13 table does not establish its fill.
Why does a D16 oil lookup need its installed pan and schedule?
The August 2025 VN/VHD/VAH document includes a D16 capacity entry. Its general scope does not make the separate D13 pan/filter tables D16 service-fill instructions. [2]
A manufacturer-hosted historical VDS-4.5 interval chart, headed year 2011 and newer, distinguishes a D11/D13/D16 42-liter pan category from a D16 52-liter pan category and separates duty groups. These are the chart's pan categories, not a refill prescription for an unidentified truck. Its exact issue date is not stated. [5]
Keep the installed pan, matching volume-column description, approved oil and actual duty together. Resolve a mismatch between a generic capacity entry and the truck's service record before filling. The separately cited 2022-GHG VDS-5 poster names D11/D13; it does not establish a D16 drain interval.
Common Volvo and Mack oil-service questions
Does every D13 take 37 quarts at an oil change?
No. That number appears in the scoped May 2024 VNL two-filter steel/composite examples. Identify the actual configuration and current service information.
Is pan volume the same as oil-change volume?
No. The cited VNL table lists them separately. Retain the column heading when comparing a number.
Can a VDS-5 label settle the oil choice by itself?
No. The dated S7498 example shows why a conflicting label needs vehicle-specific verification; it does not make every label incorrect.
Does a larger refill amount permit a longer drain interval?
No interval is established by that quantity. Match the approved oil, application, duty and vehicle maintenance schedule.
What should confirm the completed service?
Keep the actual oil/filter record and final-level verification under the matching procedure, with any unresolved warning or discrepancy documented.
Can the June 4, 2022 VAH pan note be applied to every D11?
No. Match the chassis, build and installed pan, including replacement history. The cited D11 VAH pan note expressly excludes VHD.
Do the historical D16 42-liter and 52-liter pan categories specify my refill?
No. Identify the actual pan and use its matched service-fill information. The dated-scope chart distinguishes pan and duty categories; it is not a universal refill or present-day interval recommendation.
Does a general MP7/MP8 capacity entry establish its refill or drain interval?
No. Match the installed pan, filter configuration, service-volume column, Mack oil approval and applicable duty schedule. Preserve the completed final-level check.
Technical sources and application notes
These primary manufacturer documents support the stated examples. Dated bulletins explain diagnostic distinctions; the current service information for your engine controls the repair. ATP prepared this editorial guide; no independent technician review is claimed.
- Volvo Trucks North America, Body Builder Instructions, VNL, Oil and Filters, USA174188411, May 2024. Official file is stored in the 2025 directory; the printed issue is May 2024. Pages 1-4: scope, pan versus oil-change volume, recommended/minimum specification table and filter context.
- Volvo Trucks North America, VN/VHD/VAH Oil and Filters, USA189962713, August 2025, pages 1-4. D11/D13/D16 scope; D11 VAH build/retrofit and VHD limits; separate capacity, filter, volume and oil-quality entries. Match the actual installation.
- Volvo Trucks USA, Service at a Glance Maintenance Intervals, VNL/VNR/VNX/VHD/VAH manufactured year 2022 GHG and newer using Volvo VDS-5 oil. Explicit D11/D13 oil-pan heading. File identifier 011023; no separate issue date asserted. Duty/oil categories and low-capacity VAH exception; the vehicle maintenance manual governs the schedule.
- Volvo, Service Campaign S7498, May 6, 2020, VDS-5 Oil Label Removal. Certain 2021 VN/VHD/VAH vehicles; page 1 identifies an incorrect oil-specification label in the affected population. Historical example only, not an instruction to remove any label or a current campaign eligibility claim. Public manufacturer PDF at NHTSA.
- Volvo, Recommended Change Intervals for New Volvo VDS-4.5 Premium Engine Oil, one-page manufacturer-hosted historical chart. Year 2011-and-newer heading; D11/D13/D16 42-liter and D16 52-liter pan categories with separate duty rows. Exact issue date unstated; not a universal refill or current interval recommendation.
- Mack Body Builder Instructions, USA189962715, August 2025. Printed pages 2-5: separate MP7 steel-pan and MP8 pan/filter service columns, recommended/minimum EOS table and MP8-only bypass-filter change. No universal refill or interval.
- Mack Service at a Glance, manufactured-year 2017-2020 Pinnacle/Granite/TerraPro/Titan/Anthem, PV960-M-1720-042822. One page: MP7/MP8 EOS-4.5, pan/duty/idle scope and vehicle-manual authority. Identifier retained; exact issue date not separately stated.
- Mack Trucks, PartsASIST. Manufacturer VIN-based parts lookup. Checked November 4, 2026; actual installed configuration still requires confirmation.
